Pitch Wars Mentor Book Spotlight and Giveaway with Michelle Hauck!
Aug16

Pitch Wars Mentor Book Spotlight and Giveaway with Michelle Hauck!

Michelle Hauck Twitter | Blog | Tumblr | Facebook Michelle Hauck lives in the bustling metropolis of northern Indiana with her hubby and two teenagers. Besides working with special needs children by day, she writes all sorts of fantasy, giving her imagination free range. A book worm, she passes up the darker vices in favor of chocolate and looks for any excuse to reward herself. Bio finished? Time for a sweet snack. She is a co-host of the yearly the writer contests Query Kombat, Nightmare on Query Street, New Agent, PitchSlam, and Sun versus Snow. Her Birth of Saints Series from Harper Voyager starts with GRUDGING on November 17, 2015. Her epic fantasy, KINDAR’S CURE, was published by Divertir Publishing. Her short story, Frost and Fog, was published by The Elephant’s Bookshelf Press in their anthology, Summer’s Double Edge. Elephant’s Bookshelf Press also published another of her short stories, The Unfinished Task, in their winter anthology, Winter’s Regret.   Grudging Amazon | Barnes & Noble | iBooks | HarperCollins | Goodreads   A world of chivalry and witchcraft…and the invaders who would destroy everything. The North has invaded, bringing a cruel religion and no mercy. The ciudades-estados who have stood in their way have been razed to nothing, and now the horde is before the gates of Colina Hermosa…demanding blood. On a mission of desperation, a small group escapes the besieged city in search of the one thing that might stem the tide of Northerners: the witches of the southern swamps. The Women of the Song. But when tragedy strikes their negotiations, all that is left is a single untried knight and a witch who has never given voice to her power.  And time is running out. A lyrical tale of honor and magic, Grudging is the opening salvo in the Book of Saints trilogy.   Excerpt: Shortly after the combat, Ramiro made his excuses to the men at the wall and left, returning to the citadel and taking the stairs to the roof. Some alcalde’s wife from the past had turned this spot into an outdoor garden and dining room, making it a favorite retreat for many. A peaceful place when he felt anything but. Other people’s blood spotted his white shirt. Had things gone differently, it could easily have been his own. He needed a bath and a rest, but his mind hummed from the conflict, leaving him unable to stop pacing. Cold chills claimed his limbs. His stomach was sourer than when alcohol had filled it. With no clear single-combat victory, he hadn’t earned his beard. The night reeked of disappointment. How long? How long could they keep the Northerners out? Stars spotted the night sky here, where the citadel met...

Read More
Pitch Wars Mentor Book Spotlight with Hayley Stone!
Aug16

Pitch Wars Mentor Book Spotlight with Hayley Stone!

Hayley Stone Website | Twitter | Facebook | Tumblr | Pinterest Hayley Stone has lived her entire life in sunny California, where the weather is usually perfect and nothing as exciting as a robot apocalypse ever happens. When not reading or writing, she freelances as a graphic designer, falls in love with videogame characters, and analyzes buildings for velociraptor entry points. She holds a bachelor’s degree in history and a minor in German from California State University, Sacramento. Machinations is her debut novel from Hydra/Random House. Its sequel, Counterpart, releases October 11th, 2016.   Machinations Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | Goodreads Perfect for fans of Robopocalypse, this action-packed science-fiction debut introduces a chilling future and an unforgettable heroine with a powerful role to play in the battle for humanity’s survival. The machines have risen, but not out of malice. They were simply following a command: to stop the endless wars that have plagued the world throughout history. Their solution was perfectly logical. To end the fighting, they decided to end the human race. A potent symbol of the resistance, Rhona Long has served on the front lines of the conflict since the first Machinations began—until she is killed during a rescue mission gone wrong. Now Rhona awakens to find herself transported to a new body, complete with her DNA, her personality, even her memories. She is a clone . . . of herself. Trapped in the shadow of the life she once knew, the reincarnated Rhona must find her place among old friends and newfound enemies—and quickly. For the machines are inching closer to exterminating humans for good. And only Rhona, whoever she is now, can save them.   Reviews of Machinations . . . “A tension-filled story of loss, loyalty, and forgiveness, with abundant Terminator-style shoot-em-up scenes and a snarky, kickass female warrior. I inhaled it!” – Jennifer Foehner Wells, bestselling author of Fluency “An SF techno-thriller with heart and soul.” – Alex Bledsoe, author of The Hum and the Shiver “Machinations is an action-packed SF thriller loaded with fantastic characters and gut-wrenching emotional twists. [. . .] The prose is stunning, the action is non-stop.” – Linnea Sinclair, RITA Award-winning author of Gabriel’s Ghost “Machinations is a thrilling fusion of action and heartbreak, with quick pacing, rich characters, and a one-of-a-kind story. A great debut.” – G.T. Almasi, author of Blades of Winter   Book 2 available for Pre-Order: Counterpart  ...

Read More
Pitch Wars Mentor Book Spotlight with Ellie Terry!
Aug16

Pitch Wars Mentor Book Spotlight with Ellie Terry!

Ellie Terry Website  /  Twitter   /  Facebook  /  Goodreads Ellie Terry writes about things that hurt her heart. She is represented by Steven Chudney of the Chudney agency, and her debut novel, FORGET ME NOT, will be published March 14, 2017 by Feiwel & Friends, an imprint of Macmillan. She enjoys picking flowers and baking brownies, and has a slight obsession with the moon. She lives with her husband and their three children in the beautiful desert of southern Utah. Forget Me Not Pre-order links:  Amazon  /  Powell’s  /  BAM  /   Local Indie Bookstore Astronomy-loving Calliope June has Tourette syndrome, so she sometimes makes faces or noises that she doesn’t mean to make. When she and her mother move yet again, she tries to hide her TS. But it isn’t long before the kids at her new school realize she’s different. Only Calli’s neighbor, who is also the popular student body president, sees her as she truly is—an interesting person and a good friend. But is he brave enough to take their friendship public? As Calli navigates middle school, she must also face her mother’s new relationship and the fact that they might be moving—again—just as she starts to make friends and finally accept her...

Read More